Finally!! The long-awaited love for Asam Laksa.

Two major milestones achieved while we were in Kuala Lumpur (KL) last week.

First, The Boyfriend has finally put an end to his fascination with fast food. Or junk food, as I liked to call it. In the past few years, I had taken in more junk food (McDonald’s, KFC, Burger King, Wendy’s, so on and so forth) than I would love to just because I was dating a guy who couldn’t get enough of those mass-produced, bland and fattening junk. So when he finally told me he was done with those burgers and French fries, I almost cried in tears. Hehe. I don’t know how long that would last though in case he reverts to junk, but at least he is not beyond all hope.

Second, I finally found my love in Asam Laksa. The Asam Laksa I first tasted few years ago in Penang was too strong (fishy) for my liking. The experience was bad so I had refused to give another try all these years. However, when I first spotted the corner shop at Ampang Park Shopping Centre near to my hotel, it was full with patrons and everyone seemed to be enjoying a bowl of Asam Laksa. I was tempted so I came back the next day with The Boyfriend ordering one for ourself. And boy, I was glad that I did, The sweet and sour tastes of the broth (and hardly fishy albeit being fish-based) was so appetizing. I pretty much finished off the broth and came back again another day solely for it. I am more open to trying more Asam Laksa from now on!

DSCF0728[1]

Leave a Reply

